Royal danish ministry of foreign affairs - Go to the frontpage of   Publication  

Nepal country facts and map

Nepal country facts and map

Facts on administrative and local governance structures

Nepal is divided into 14 zones and 75 districts, grouped into five development regions. Each district has a Chief District Officer (CDO) responsible for maintaining law and order. The development functions of various line agencies are coordinated by Local Development Officer (LDO) at the DDC.


The local governance structure in Nepal has two levels: District Development Committees (DDCs) as upper tier and Village Development Committees (VDCs)/ Municipalities (cities/towns) as lower tier.

  • Nepal’s 75 DDCs have 3915 VDCs and 58 Municipalities
  • Each VDC is divided into 9 Wards and each Municipality into 9-35 Wards (depending on their size)


Population (2011): 26.6 million Area (sq. km): 147,181
GNI per capita, Atlas Method (2012): USD 700
Human Development Index (rank 2012): 157
Human Development Index (2012): 0.0463
Life expectancy (2012): 67 years

Looking for change...

It is coming, and it is coming from the grassroots.

Read about some of the thousands and thousands of Nepalese active in Land Rights Forums, Ward Citizens Forums, Social Families and other contexts to claim their rights and be constructive and engaged citizens. And the support provided by Danida.


This page forms part of the publication 'Rights and Governance for Development' as chapter 15 of 15
Version 1.0. 20-01-2014
Publication may be found at the address


  Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark © |